Dark Winter

We rated this book:


Dark Winter is a taut political and military thriller by AJ Tata. It is the fifth novel in the Jake Mahegan series. Shortly after the events of the last book, Direct Fire, Jake Mahegan and his girlfriend and fellow operator, Cassie, are vacationing in North Carolina enjoying their time together. However, the vacation is cut short when Jake receives an urgent call. It turns out that corporate billionaire Ian Gorham has put in motion an evil plan that would bring the world to its knees so he could become an ultimate ruler. For this, he assembles a team of hackers to hack into defense systems of Russia, Iran, and North Korea, to start ComWar, or Computer Optimized Warfare. As a result, North Korea attacks South Korea, Russia attacks Europe, and Iran attacks Iraq. Now, it is up to Jake Mahegan and his team to stop the evil genius Gorham’s evil plan and stop the world from going up in flames.

Like his previous books, Tata skillfully blends in elements of geopolitics, technology, and warfare to give the reader a story that is full of action and suspense. The author, himself a decorated Army veteran, crafts an authentic plot, in a sense of “what if.” What if artificial intelligence got so intelligent it could precipitate World War III? What if a corporate billionaire was given free rein? Dark Winter definitely answers these questions and more in a suspenseful thriller that’s impossible to put down.

Reviewed By:

Author Anthony J. Tata
Star Count /5
Format Hard
Page Count 464 pages
Publisher Kensington
Publish Date 2018-10-30
ISBN 9781496717900
Bookshop.org Buy this Book
Issue April 2019
Category Mystery, Crime, Thriller


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Dark Winter”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *