Lock Up: The Secrets of Mylin – Book III

We rated this book:

$9.99


Lock Up: The Secrets of Mylin is the third book in a trilogy that reads well as a standalone. Twenty-year-old Mylin is in jail for killing her brother, a bad man. When FBI Agent Carr visits her and propositions her with a get-out-of-jail card, she replies that she wants to work with two street detectives she knows from San Francisco and it’s a deal. Detectives Qigiq and Dreeson are surprised at this request but agree to help since they already know Mylin and her story. Mylin has few family members left. She killed one of her brothers and her other brother and father are dead via internal family homicide as well. Her father has been running a prostitution ring right under the nose of the Feds and now her Uncle Gan is in charge. The Feds are using Mylin to find her Uncle Gan who may be part of the bigger crime syndicate.

The storyline is well planned out and the characters are phenomenal. Mylin is a girl who just wants to be a musician and play her viola, however, people keep interrupting her life plan. She is kidnapped right after being taken from jail in a plan gone wrong. Qigiq and Dreeson work with friends Joe, a professional photographer, and Jill, a wannabe agent/spy. Using the ultimate in technology including drones, scanning equipment, and other surveillance techniques, the team is able to catch glimpses of Mylin as she is given orders by different people along the way. The author also throws in another storyline about valuable paintings that carry a secret and a mysterious Dragon Lady who wants to purchase them. This storyline threw me for a loop at first, however, it ended up connecting well to the main storyline in the end.

I felt the author did a fantastic job of creating a lot of excitement throughout the book. There were cool speed boats, fast motorcycles, and even explosions. This book was hard to put down because the action never seemed to stop. The team was one step behind Mylin the whole time and trying to figure out what it was that Uncle Gan was doing with her.

Lock Up: The Secrets of Mylin is a fast-paced, enjoyable read and perfect for fans of James Bond, Jason Bourne, and other international espionage thrillers. A page-turning rollercoaster ride that will have you biting your nails in anticipation.


Reviewed By:

Author Joe Klingler
Star Count 4/5
Format Trade
Page Count 328 pages
Publisher Cartosi LLC
Publish Date 2021-Jan-02
ISBN 9781941156124
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue August 2021
Category Mystery, Crime & Thriller
Share

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Lock Up: The Secrets of Mylin – Book III”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*