Meant to Be

We rated this book:

$18.99


Meant to Be is the story of a young girl named Ivy as she learns to navigate the changes in life. One year ago, Ivy, her mom and dad, and older sister Rachel moved into an apartment. Her parents were a bit strapped for cash and decided to sell their family farmhouse. But instead of being sad, Ivy is happy to be living in an apartment community because she has made friends with two kids her age, Lucas and Alice. They watch the cooking show “Bake It to Make It” together and make different recipes, sometimes sharing the outcomes with their neighbors. Although Ivy can be pushy in her opinions, she means well. Being sensitive to others’ feelings is something Ivy finds she needs to work on.

This book touches upon many coming-of-age themes such as absentee parents with addiction issues, understanding money problems, learning how to communicate with one another without hurting people’s feelings, and how to deal with life’s changes as they come at you. This book is perfect for fans of Judy Blume, Beverly Cleary, and the American Girl series.


Reviewed By:

Author Jo Knowles
Star Count 4/5
Format Hard
Page Count 224 pages
Publisher Candlewick
Publish Date 12-Apr-2022
ISBN 9781536210323
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue May 2022
Category Young Adult
Share