The Singularity Transfer

We rated this book:

$19.95


After the events of The Singularity Witness saw Professor Thomas Parker, an expert on artificial intelligence and brain mapping, tricked into helping the diabolical Phoenix Consortium with research into mind control and then co-opted into helping the FBI track down a missing senator, it seemed unlikely that he’d be able to return to a quiet life teaching at Princeton. However, despite all the nefarious activities he ended up mixed up in, Parker was still unprepared for what he would have to face in The Singularity Transfer.

Dan Grant opens the second book in his Singularity Series with a bang, several bangs in fact. First, there is Dr. Rikona Tanaka, a veteran of the Advanced Neurological and Cybernetic Research Institute, who is being forced to reanimate/resurrect the villainous Stewart Richards, the principal antagonist from Thomas Parker’s first outing. Then there’s Parker himself, who is rudely awakened by a group of well-armed home invaders searching for his cutting-edge research: a neurological interface with the human mind. Parker initially manages to evade his attackers, but he’s left for dead when they set fire to his home. Finally, one of the investigators assigned to look into the fire is FBI Special Agent Kate Morgan, Parker’s more-off-than-on-at-the-moment girlfriend, who quickly realizes that there’s another conspiracy afoot.

There’s so much going on in the first twenty-five or so pages of The Singularity Transfer that the reader is immediately gripped by the story and interest is maintained for the remainder of the book. Grant has cracked the art of thriller writing: punchy sentences, snappy dialogue, short chapters, and plenty of cliffhangers. The book races by as the characters lurch from one explosive situation to the next. It is a medical/techno-thriller, so there’s a fair bit of realistic techie talk mixed in with the dialogue and general exposition, but only rarely does it detract from the pace of the plot. Grant has clearly put a lot of thought into his world-building and the ideas behind the singularity concept, despite being firmly within the realm of science fiction at the moment, certainly ring true. Saying that, maybe it won’t be too long before everyone is plugged into a “common collective”…

Thomas Parker is a solid, stoic hero. He’s both a man of action and a mega brain, and he doesn’t really get fazed by anything that befalls him. In fact, he’s a bit MacGyver-ish in terms of his skillset. Kate Morgan is an equally capable hero who doesn’t let international assassins, corrupt politicians, or any other flavor of villain distract her from her investigation. She’s a tenacious sleuth who will do everything it takes to get to the truth. The dynamic between the two of them works well, meaning that their relationship (or lack thereof) seems plausible throughout the book, even when it’s adversarial.

The Singularity Transfer is an exciting book that motors along at breakneck speed. It’s a cracking read for fans of Dan Brown, Steve Berry, and other writers of conspiracy theory/cutting-edge-technology-laced thrillers. While it’s not necessary to have read The Singularity Witness in order to understand and enjoy The Singularity Transfer, doing so would provide valuable background detail and help to flesh out the various characters’ motivations.


Reviewed By:

Author Dan Grant
Star Count 4/5
Format Trade
Page Count 544 pages
Publisher MindScape Press, Inc.
Publish Date 2020-Dec-18
ISBN 0978195376491
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue February 2021
Category Mystery, Crime & Thriller
Share

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Singularity Transfer”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*