The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches

We rated this book:

$17.00


With her latest novel, The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches, Sangu Mandanna has written the perfect escapist love story with a side of witchery. It is utterly enchanting and an absolutely perfect read as we approach spooky season—although there are limited scares, so those looking for horror may not find this up their alley. If magic is your bag, though, this one is for you.

Mika Moon moves on often. She can’t risk anyone knowing her secret: that the silly videos she posts, pretending to be a witch, aren’t really an act. Her surrogate mother Primrose taught her to keep that part of her hidden, only to be shared with a very select group of witches who are sworn to protect one another’s anonymity. It is a lonely life and one that Mika rarely finds joy in; her solace lies in her dog, Circe, and her work with plants.

She’s learned to live a solitary life, until she is offered a position at Nowhere House mentoring three young girls who are coming into their own powers but have no one to teach them just what being a witch means. Mika’s entire life shifts from the singular to the plural as she begins the job and finds a possible family in the staff of Nowhere House; she is especially connected to the librarian Jamie, but she isn’t sure exactly what draws her to him.

As she teaches the girls and learns what she is willing to sacrifice to protect her new life, she learns a secret of Nowhere House that could threaten to take it all apart. For readers of Sarah Addison Allen, Karen Hawkins, and Heather Webber, this darling book will be an absolute hit.


Reviewed By:

Author Sangu Mandanna
Star Count 5/5
Format Trade
Page Count 336 pages
Publisher Penguin Publishing Group
Publish Date 23-Aug-2022
ISBN 9780593439357
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue September 2022
Category Romance
Share