The Book of Koli (Rampart Trilogy, 1)

We rated this book:


Graphic novel writer turned novelist M.R. Carey, following the success of his previous novels The Girl with All the Gifts and The Boy on the Bridge, returns with The Book of Koli, the first book in a proposed trilogy.

The story begins in a post-apocalyptic world where everything has changed and appears to be not too bad, but as more details are revealed, it is clear there is something much greater going on here. Koli has lived in Mythen Rood all his life and spends the first few chapters explaining how things are and how they came to be as such. He also talks about what is beyond Mythen Rood: great forests filled with choker trees and deadly seeds, and those known as shunned men. It is a place you do not want to go, but it is also a place Koli must go.

Carey has a knack for creating a unique world that immediately grabs the reader’s interest, and he also tells the story in language that feels as if it were penned by someone from a distant, broken future. Fans will be thrilled with The Book of Koli.

Reviewed By:

Author M.R. Carey
Star Count /5
Format Trade
Page Count 416 pages
Publish Date 2020-04-14
ISBN 9780316477536 Buy this Book
Issue August 2020
Category Science Fiction & Fantasy


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Book of Koli (Rampart Trilogy, 1)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *